Mirror Cubes

I’ve been going through a shiny sparkly DIY craze lately.  I’ve always been an unashamed magpie who is attracted to anything that glitters or shines but I think this most recent phase was the result of  having binge watched far too many Youtube tutorials last month.  I am always amazed at how creative people are and at the beautiful things that they come up with.  One of the  DIY  projects that I came across online were these different sized mirror cubes. They looked fairly quick and simple to make (they really sparkled too!) and I thought they’d be particularly pretty as coffee table decorations, plus I already had most of the necessary materials on hand so I decided to give them a try.  The only thing I had to purchase were the mirror squares themselves. Each cube requires six equal sized squares. I bought them at a local mirror shop where they cut them for me in 5 inch, 4 inch and 3 inch sizes because I wanted three different sized cubes. In my area it’s alot less expensive to have them cut to size rather than buying them already pre-cut. I think I paid about ten dollars for all three sizes, which was 18 squares in total.I laid five of the six squares out on the counter top face down, in the position that they’d be hot glued together. To keep them from moving around I held them together with tape before glueing them. I happened to have aluminum tape on hand so I used that. 

Then I flipped the squares upright and hot glued them together on the inside from top to bottom at each corner where they joined. Once the four sides and the bottom of the cube were glued together and the glue had cooled and dried, I glued the  top square on.

Then it was just a matter of blinging it up. I had a roll of diamond ribbon among my craft stuff so I glued strips of it to all the edges. That really upped the sparkle factor. A left over crystal knob from my kitchen cabinets served nicely as a finial for the top.And that was it!

These were so inexpensive and easy to make that I made three more for the coffee table up at our mountain house. I haven’t put finials on these three yet. 

 

I will be joining the following fun link parties this week!

Inspire Me Monday @ Create With Joy

Busy Monday @ A Pinch of Joy

Metamorphosis Monday @ Between Naps on the Porch

Inspire Me Mondays @ My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia

Tuesdays At Our Home @ Our Home Far Away From Home

LouLou Girls Linky Party @ Lou Lou Girls

Creative Muster Party @ Fluster Buster

Wow Us Wednesdays @ Savvy Southern Style

Tuesdays With A Twist @ God’s Growing Garden

Party in Your PJs @ Grandma Ideas

Share Your Style Link Party  @ 21 Rosemary Lane

Home and Garden Thursday @ A Delightsome Life

 

Leave a Reply

