Black Rose

black1

I know, I know. There is no such thing as a black rose. I know I’ve talked about my black roses before and have even showed you pictures, but I thought I’d post about them again because a few days ago as I was removing some bouquets of faded roses from their vases, I discovered that some of those “black” roses had turned an amazing and velvety pitch black as they dried.

For quite some time I didn’t know what the name of this rose was, but I suspected that it was Black Baccara. The nursery where I purchased it confirmed my suspicion recently  and they told me that it was indeed Black Baccara. This rose is actually considered to be a very deep dark red but the color on the petals is uneven throughout, thus much of it does look black. On the same plant some of the blooms are darker and others are redder. Here it is as a bud.

As you can see, the base of the petals is reddish, but above the base and to the tips, it is indeed black.

As you can see, the base of the petals is reddish, but above the base and to the tips, it is indeed black.

I’ve read that Black Baccara is a very unpredictable rose which sometimes blooms red and rarely blooms black. Apparently it depends on the soil and the climate. I guess I must have favorable conditions here because it does get quite black and you actually have to look very closely to see the tinges of red. Here it is in a vase. This photo is completely unretouched and it is the true color. Even up close this particular bloom was for the most part, quite black. Others from the same bush are sometimes less black and more maroon.

12696196_10156429223825618_829761749_n

yellow vase

Last week I was about to throw out some faded roses that I had placed in a couple of vases, but I loved the way the colors had intensified as they dried, particularly the black ones so I decided to save them. I really like the look of dried roses.

black2

black5

I tied them in a bunch and hung them with a ribbon from a ceiling lamp to finish drying. The sweet fragrance still lingers and wafts of delicately scented perfume reach my nose every time I walk past the hanging bouquets. I am reminded of an old Egyptian proverb that says, “Even if the flower has faded, it still retains it’s beautiful fragrance.” The proverb of course is a poetic reference to women who have matured.

cimg4689

black4

cimg4684

cimg4690

I am always fascinated by the deep russet, gold and burgundy tones that aging roses aquire. I think I like dried bouquets almost as much as fresh ones and I am thinking that perhaps I can collect enough black roses for a gothic flower arrangement.

rosessilverpitcher-2

Leave a Reply

