A Weird Ebay Experience

The photos of my waterlilies don't have anything to do with this post but they are colorful, aren't they? hee

The photos of my waterlilies don’t have anything to do with this post but they are colorful, aren’t they? 

I’ve been buying things on Ebay since about 2001 or so. My friends and family laugh because I have been able to score some pretty good deals over the years. I actually buy pretty much everything on Ebay mostly because it allows me to shop from home and my purchases are delivered right to my door. Can’t get more convenient than that. Also, alot of things aren’t available locally so it’s nice to be able to purchase them online.  I would say that about 99% of my Ebay purchases have been satisfactory. Last month I was browsing Ebay looking for a few things that I wanted to buy, among them a small shelf for my bathroom that I intended to paint ivory to match the mirror above the vanity. So after searching for a few days I came across a listing for one of those little vintage 70s shelves at the starting price of 99 cents plus 20 dollars for shipping. That sounded about right and it was more or less what most sellers were asking for these little shelves…..about 20 to 25 dollars shipping and all. The description said that it was chipped but I figured that was ok because I was going to paint it anyway and the chip probably wouldn’t be visible. I placed my bid and won, as nobody else bid on it. A couple of days later I get a message from the seller informing me that she (I’m fairly certain it’s a she) was unable to ship it out for the price that was listed on the auction page and seeing as how I won it for only 99 cents, could I send her X amount of additional money for shipping otherwise she would have to cancel the sale. In almost 15 years of buying on Ebay, this was a first.  So, I messaged her back and told her that no, I wasn’t willing to pay more than 20 dollars for shipping and that it wasn’t cool to cancel and refund for this reason as now I would lose money on the currency conversion (twice) because I pay with an international Paypal account and I am charged a conversion fee for every conversion into dollars or back. Next thing I know, I get another message from her this time in an unpleasant and sarcastic tone, telling me that the “math” was easy, she wasn’t making any profit from the deal, Ebay was charging her a fee and it would be stupid for her to lose money just so that I could get a “tacky shelf “. (Yes, those were her words) She accused me of not being understanding and then told me that I obviously had difficulty “doing the math” being from Florida and all.  I really have no clue what being from Florida has to do with doing math…I’m not from Florida and have never lived there, although my Ebay courier service is located in Miami and that’s where my Ebay purchases are delivered and then forwarded to me. So she must have assumed that I lived there. Whatever.

Wanvisa water lily

Wanvisa water lily

I messaged her back and in my politest tone told her that it’s not my responsibility to “do the math” because I’m not the seller. It’s actually her responsibility to calculate all her costs before posting a listing on Ebay. I told her that a business transaction was a business transaction and didn’t carry with it a responsibility for the buyer to be understanding. It is also a violation of Ebay rules for a seller to ask a buyer to send additional money on the side and that in skimming over her feedback score, I noticed that I was not the only person that she had done this to. But in any case, if she wanted to cancel the transaction then go ahead. That spurred a barrage of insults in her next message where she called me among other epithets an “entitled jerk” who was unecessarily stalking her feedback.  I ended up just ignoring her and her rants and had to wait 5 days for Paypal to issue me a refund.

Well, it was a no brainer that I was going to leave this seller  negative feedback considering all the uncalled for insults, my loss of money and her violation of Ebay rules. I thought that would be the end of that. No so.

Antares water lily

Antares water lily

When I went to leave the feedback, I noticed that she had written a lengthy comment on her Ebay profile page where she had included my Ebay seller ID, my husband’s full name that appears on our Ebay account and our Florida shipping address. I was horrified that anyone would be deranged enough to do this. She had put all this personal and confidential information in a paragraph stating that she was selling stuff on Ebay to help someone that had cancer, and that my husband HATED (she wrote that in capital letters) cancer victims. And that he liked to STEAL from cancer victims. (again in capital letters) She also admonished buyers not to be cancer victim haters like XXX XXXX (My husband’s name)  WTF?? I had no idea what she was talking about or how the subject went from a failed transaction into a supposed persecution of cancer victims but I immediately telephoned Ebay to alert them because posting personal information is a serious violation of Ebay policy and grounds for suspending the seller. They gave her 24 hours to remove it. Thankfully she did, but now she has replaced it with something about being a cancer fighter and about the “sub-human” buyer who hates people with cancer and who left her negative feedback.  Talk about lunatics.  Sadly she doesn’t seem to realize that her ridiculous rant will only scare away potential customers because it makes her sound quite deranged and it calls even more attention to the negative feedback comments (mine was not the only one)  that might otherwise not even be seen. In the end, I will just buy another shelf from one of the many pleasant and polite (and sane!)  sellers on Ebay and she will have to live with the negative feedback.

Wish I knew the name of this one

Wish I knew the name of this one

11 thoughts on “A Weird Ebay Experience

  1. OMG, you should of posted her seller name on this post. i think being referred to as an “entitled jerk” is showing her true colors. We too buy on eBay for the past up teem years but lately I prefer Amazon prime and love etsy. With naming your husband in her insane rant I would think it would of been enough to get her kicked off of eBay sellers instead of giving her a grace period of 24 hours to remove your hubby’s name.
    All your photos you posted are pretty, I adore flowers but know what grows for you would never grow in the upper NE. So I enjoy the beauty you post.
    Come visit I posted yesterday, you will get a taste of our November.
    Sending you a big hug.
    xoxo,
    Vera

    • She is a real nut case. Her reaction was completely uncalled for and I got the feeling that she is probaby someone young and immature. I don’t necessarily believe the cancer story either especially because she changed it in her revised version where she warns any “entitled jerks” not to bid on her auctions. Fortunately most Ebay sellers are genuinely nice people. I often shop on Amazon too, I really like that they post helpful reviews of the items. I’ve heard of Amazon Prime and have been curious, but haven’t signed up for it yet. I’m on my way to your blog now Vera! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Came for an encore visit and re-read your experience. I hope you have purchased a shelf for your bathroom from someone else and the crazy eBay seller is no longer selling. Prime is wonderful on Amazon, they ship within 2 days and for the cost of signing up for prime is nominal if you purchase often.
    I enjoyed your visit and comment, I’m so glad we’ve met in Blog Land.
    xoxo,
    Vera

    • Hi Vera! Thanks so much for writing! Daughter is back from Italy although she’s already planning her next trip. I’ve been cleaning out and organizing one of our store’s stock rooms for the past couple of weeks and I think I took on more than I can handle! No end in sight yet hehe so I haven’t been online as much as usual. I’ve also felt a little bit lazy these days about posting on my blog because I find WordPress really difficult to work with and uploading photos becomes a frustrating ordeal every time. WordPress seems to have a mind of it’s own and it does weird things with the photos (i.e. scoots them over to the right or to the left, resizes them arbitrarily) as well as with the writing. Sometimes I just give up mid way through a post. I wish now that I had used blogger instead. I may yet change over to blogger. I’ll pop over to your blog later today and see what you’ve been up to!
      Hugs!

  3. Priscilla,
    I’m very late to thank you for your enjoyable comment. I always love to hear from you. Things have been hectic and sad. My Max >^..^< who was in stage 4 hyperthyroidism went into heart failure on the 14th. On the 15th (our wedding anniversary) we said goodbye to Max and put him down. Being a cat lover you understand how heavy your heart becomes and how much you miss them.
    Tonight at the stroke of midnight EST I will post my Christmas presentation, it hopefully will entertain and make people smile.
    Wishing you and your family a beautiful holiday celebration and I want to thank you for the opportunity to get to know you better over this past year.
    xoxo,
    Vera

    • Oh Vera I’m so very sorry to hear that you lost Max! I knew he had been sick but I was hoping that he wouldn’t go so soon. Our beloved pets are such an important part of our families aren’t they? May he be happy and in perfect health now on the other side of the rainbow bridge! I’m on my way over right now to see your Christmas presentation. I’m so glad that we have gotten to know each other via our blogs! Have a very merry Christmas!

      Hugs!

  4. Happy new year wishes to you and your family Priscilla. You’re right Tulips like cooler temperatures and are early Spring flowers for us. Forcing them indoors this Winter will bring a touch of nature in memory of Max. Simon likes to smell flowers but he is not a >^..^< that needs to eat them! Still as pet owners we must be very careful to check what we bring into our homes to make sure our beloved fur kids will not become ill chewing on them.

    I always enjoy your visits and hope 2016 is a joyful, create and inspiring year for you.
    xoxo,
    Vera

    • Hi dear Vera! I’m so late responding to your sweet comment! I’ve had my son and his wife and my little grandson visiting me from Colorado since mid November and things have been so hectic! It seems like I haven’t had a free moment in ages. They just left a few days ago and I feel like I am finally catching up on everything and getting back to my usual routine. I was just visiting your blog and admiring your lovely ceramic creations! I love that you started out the new theater troupe with a darling mouse! I am looking forward to seeing what other characters you will magically bring to life!
      Hugs!

  5. I haven’t bought on ebay in years but Hubby sometimes does. So far, knock on wood, we haven’t run into a looney like that. I’m curious about her ID too but don’t think you should post it here. The last thing you want is for her to find your blog.

    I wish I could help you out with the name of the last lily, it’s lovely. Do you grow all your lilies inside?

    • Hi Marti! I did briefly consider including that Ebay seller’s ID in this post but given her crazy behavior I figured it would be best not to.
      I have all my water lilies in two outdoor ponds, a small pond in the courtyard of our city house and a larger one up at our mountain house. I keep the prettier lilies in the small pond of the city house where I spend the most time, that way I can enjoy them when they bloom. The lily in the last photo came as a bulb in a little box that my mom bought for me at Walmart many years ago and brought down from California. I wish I had taken the time to notice the name!

Leave a Reply

