Tuscan Trip

tuscany 2

My daughter left for Italy a couple of weeks ago, this time she’s staying in Siena where she rented a delightful little second floor room from an elderly Italian lady in an old Tuscan house right across the street from her school. Italy is like her second home and she actually lived in Urbania for a time while studying Italian. She speaks it fluently but still likes to return as often as she can and take additional classes.  I kind of think the classes are just an excuse because she really spends most of her time travelling around with friends. A few days ago she sent me some pictures of her little rented room. It’s small but cozy and has quaint old world wooden shuttered windows that overlook rooftops and a nearby square.

ss

The bathroom is a mix of old and new. They’ve tucked a full sized bathtub in a little niche underneath gorgeous old rafter beams.

ss

ss

I love the brass fixtures

xx

This little carved wooden shelf holds knick-knacks and bath accessories

ss

There’s a washing machine conveniently located in the bathroom right next to the sink, which I kind of think is a pretty good idea.

ss

I’m somewhat intrigued by the two glasses and picnic basket on top of the washer though.  Maybe some folks enjoy having a little glass of refreshment while they wait for their laundry to be done….I’m guessing? Or maybe it’s just for decoration. Either way it’s a pretty and colorful washer top.

ss

I’ll bet this bathroom is never stuffy with a window that opens up like this one!

ss

I was curious about that antique metal pot on the marble window ledge. I thought it held towels and reckoned it was a cute idea. I asked my daughter about it and she said it actually holds a roll of plastic bags.

ss

Here’s something we don’t see much here in Costa Rica, or in the United States for that matter. A bidet. They’re very common in Europe as well as in some Latin American countries. When we lived in Ecuador, every house had them.

ss

I don’t know about the painting but I am really coveting this antique frame.

ss

ss

Speaking of antiques, there was a large antique flea market in Siena last Sunday which is held on the third Sunday of each month. I gave my daughter a list of things to look out for, the most important being antique silver ex-votos. Italy is the best place to shop for religious art. I was counting the days til the flea market and I anxiously questioned her about it Sunday evening and as it turns out, she didn’t go! She went to visit friends in Bologna instead. Go figure.  Only a 20-something-year-old would forgo a flea market full of antiques and treasures waiting to be discovered and opt for a day trip to a nearby town instead. Arrrghh. In an attempt to pacify me, she did ask at a nearby Catholic shop where they indeed had some beautiful ex-votos but of course they cost five times as much. And they weren’t antiques. Or even silver.

ss

The rest of the time that she’s not in class or on day trips visiting friends, she’s at the local ice cream shop enjoying one of these award winning treats. Too bad she can’t bring one back!

ss

Joining Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage 

3 thoughts on “Tuscan Trip

  1. I think the bathroom is very charming, I absolutely swooned over the window and chuckled over the two glasses and basket. But Italians do approach daily life as a celebration maybe that includes daily chores! I wish our bathroom was large enough because I would of put in a bidet, you’re right very common in Europe and not thought of in bathroom design in the US.
    Next town vs a flea market? Maybe your daughter will go the 3rd Sunday of October. Such a pretty photograph of the flea market in Siena I lose myself in the color’s of Tuscany, the light is amazing. You have me now wanting ice cream, that award winning treat looks so yummy, especially the whipped cream.
    Thanks for your visit last night I always enjoy your sweet comments.
    xoxo,
    Vera

  2. Thanks for your visit to my en Noir et Blanc post. I had no idea that Film Noir movies included Mexican and Egyptian films too. I have also watched some British ones, I will research and try to find some to watch. Thanks my friend.
    xoxo,
    Vera

Leave a Reply

