Abracadabra

SS

We’ve had a welcome respite from the rain these past couple of weeks. I love warm sunny days when I can go out in the garden at any hour without worrying about menacing thunder clouds lurking on the horizon. But it’s literally the calm before the storm and I know it won’t last. In just a few days time, the break will end and the daily downpours will resume once more.

ss

ss

 This week some of my Abracadabra roses were in various stages of bloom.

SS

This is one my favorite roses. I’d been coveting one for the longest time but I was unable to find any nurseries that sold them. The only place I had ever seen Abracadabra for sale was in Australia. That was a tad too far for me. I regularly checked all the major rose vendors in the U.S. and Europe as well as on Ebay and even Google but I had no luck. Apparently not too many sellers carry Abracadabra because it’s a very unreliable rose as it doesn’t always produce the same color of blooms. Some plants produce the desired burgundy blooms splashed with bright yellow, however other plants can produce solid burgundy blooms with no trace of yellow. Or yellow blooms with no trace of burgundy, or half yellow and half burgundy. The combinations are endless.

Isn't this crazy?

Isn’t this crazy?

Additionally, the same plant can produce both solid and striped flowers. You never really know what it’s going to do.  I had pretty much given up on finding any for sale and had accepted the fact that this rose was about as elusive as El Dorado. Then one day I noticed a post on a Facebook plant group in my area where someone had posted a picture of an abracadabra rose. I snickered. Surely nobody could possibly be selling these in Costa Rica of all places. A few days later, there it was again. The same photo. This time I asked if they had them for sale and to my complete surprise, the seller responded that indeed he did. For just four dollars a plant.

ss

So after getting vague directions from the seller over the phone, I drove out with one of our store employees to a run down old farm that was pretty much out in the middle of the jungle and perched on the edge of a deep ravine. I have to say that I was more than a bit uneasy, but my yearning for that rose superseded all caution. I half expected to be greeted by someone who was a cross between Freddy, Jason and Hannibal Lechter but instead I was greeted by a very gentle and kind older gentleman with graying hair tied neatly in a pony tail, who’s hobby it was to putter in the garden and to experiment with rose grafting. He explained to me that a friend of his had given him some cuttings of Abracadabra some time ago which he had rooted. It was from those plants that he had begun grafting his own cuttings and selling the them (as well as other rose varieties) to earn a little extra income. I bought four baby plants which are now thriving in my garden.  Several other roses are blooming as well.

ss

ss

Lady Banks Rose

Lady Banks Rose

Julio Iglesias

Julio Iglesias

ss

ss

This is the blackest rose I've ever seen.  Before the buds open, it looks quite black. After they open, the rose is actually a very deep blackish maroon.

This is the closest to black rose I’ve ever seen. Before the buds open, it looks quite black. After they open, the rose is actually a very deep blackish maroon.

Purple Sage

Purple Sage

As I looked out over the central valley, I spied a faint rainbow, one of it’s ends sprouting from the the middle of a nearby field. Can you see it? It’s right in the center of the photograph. I could have sworn I saw the glimmer of gold among the bright green grass.

ss

Even though I always feel guilty cutting flowers to put in vases, I wanted to be able to enjoy them inside the house as well.

A tropical flower bouquet

A tropical flower bouquet

ss

A rose bouquet. The orange ones are called Miss Amber

A rose bouquet. The deep orange ones are called Miss Amber

ss

Joining:

Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

Saturday Show Off at The Rose Garden in Malevik

7 thoughts on “Abracadabra

  1. Hello, guess what I’m done my blogging break! I have envy of your fancinating beautiful Roses. I have never heard of Abracadabra roses before, They are ones I would so enjoy to have growing to grace my garden if I had a rose garden. Living in the city of Philadelphia my lawn is more postage stamp size than anything else. Although I do have stone beds with manicured Boxwoods growing and I plant many flowers in containers. Your view is amazing and oh that Purple and Yellow rose absolutely captivating.
    I put up a post of renovation highlights, come visit when you can. You will see our 100+ barn beams, so glad they are up.
    xoxo,
    Vera

    • Oh, wonderful to see you back again Vera! The purple and yellow rose is also an abracadabra bloom, which just goes to show how utterly unpredictable they are! I’m on my way over to your blog right now to see more of the renovation!

  2. OMG! Your roses are stunning! How wonderful it must be to have a walk around your garden and admire those roses of your very own bloom.
    FABBY

Leave a Reply

