Random Saturday

CIMG0172 (1024x768)

Rainy season is almost upon us again and the sky has become a swirl of puffy white clouds edged with ominous darker gray ones which bring with them a telltale drizzle and cool humid breezes.  April marks the transition into rainy season and although we still have dry sunny days, they will steadily become fewer and fewer throughout the month until they are gone completely. This year I’m kind of looking forward to the rain, I never thought I’d say that but my garden is suffering a bit  and things are starting to look dry and thirsty no matter how much they’re watered with the hose. I think that too much sun is about as bad as too much rain. Only a few of my rose bushes have blooms on them now and most of the water loving annuals including the zinnias and marigolds have dissapeared. It seems that this dry season has been uncharacteristically harsh. I was going to re-seed last week but I figured I might as well wait til the end of the month when the rains return and I won’t have to worry about watering them every day. Two things that seem to be thriving are the sweet alyssum and the hydrangeas, bless their dear hearts. Hydrangeas are practically indestructible around here and most houses have several bushes growing in their gardens.

CIMG0131 (1024x768)

A few of my roses are blooming, though not as profusely as they usually do. This orange and yellow blend is almost always in bloom come rain or shine. I wish I knew what it was called but most nurseries around here don’t provide the real names of roses. I thought it might be Charisma, but it’s anyone’s guess.

cc

cc

This pink edged white rose reminds me of strawberries and cream. It’s called Princess De Monaco.

ss

This russet colored rose is one of my favorites. The color is somewhere between terra cotta and cinnamon.  In case you’re wondering, the white residue on the rose leaves is a fungus spray, it’s the only way to keep blackspot and downy mildew somewhat under control in this humid climate.

xx

My fig tree is doing surprisingly well. I had this tree in a large clay pot for about 12 years where it dutifully produced 5 or 6 figs per year. It never grew more than 2 ft. tall.  When we bought the mountain house I brought it up here and took it out of it’s clay pot and put it in the ground. I am amazed at how much it’s grown in just a couple of years and how many figs it’s producing now. Fig compote (with cheese!) is one of my very favorite desserts.

cc

ss

I just wish my grapevines were doing as well. They’ve been in the ground longer than the figs but they are really putting up a fight and refusing to grow. They’re just scraggly and tend to lose all their leaves during the wet season. I have no idea what’s wrong with them. I had hoped to be eating grapes by now but it seems that they take one step forward and two steps back. I’m guessing that they prefer a drier climate.

ss

The giant passion fruit is looking nice and green. I had to build a trellis support for it. No fruits in sight yet though.

xx

I don’t know what these black berries are but they look terribly poisonous. They’re hanging from the palm trees. I’ve already cut several of these palm trees down but they just keep coming back.

ss

Sweet alyssum are springing up all over the place and their scent is simply heavenly. It overpowers even the fragrance of the roses.

ss

Dwarf Goblin Blanket Flower in a pot.

ss

A major dissapointment in my garden has been the pond. I had envisioned bloom after bloom of fragrant tropical water lilies delicately rising above the water to display their colors amid the water hyacinths and the Louisiana Iris. Everything would have gone according to plan if it hadn’t been for those pesky koi fish. They are like eating machines and they devour everything in sight. Now my pond looks like nothing more than a muddy murky hole full of water and dying plants where monster fish lurk like sharks waiting for any tidbit to fall in so they can eat it. These fish actually climb up on the rocks and out of the water so they can get at the plants that are out of their reach! I find them frightening. I had been quite hesitant about buying koi because I’d heard that they were incompatible with plant life. I had intended to buy goldfish instead but hubby beat me to the punch and went ahead and bought the koi. Not just any koi but 15 inch long koi who had about a million babies in my pond within a week of their arrival.  I’ve decided that I’m going to call up the breeder who sold them to us and beg him to take them back. Free of charge. Heck, I’ll pay him to get those pests off my hands. Maybe my water lilies will recover.

ss

The Hibiscus bushes that line the property look quite happy. Hibiscus always does well here. I’d love to get some of those really exotic colored hybrid varieties that I’ve seen online.

ss

Another pink variety. This one is more ruffly.

ss

The lantana bushes are full of bright little flowers. These guys will need a good pruning before the rain starts or they’ll just take over the garden.

ss

Even though there weren’t very many long stemmed flowers in the garden today, nature always has a way of providing something to use in a bouquet, even if it’s the tiniest of flowers. I cut what I found growing…toadflax, catchfly, alyssum, and I was still able to enjoy the sweetest fragrance from these miniature bouquets.

ss

ss

CIMG0126 (1024x768)

Joining The Rose Garden in Malevik for Saturday Show Off 

2 thoughts on “Random Saturday

  1. Hi, I’m Pat from Lilly my Cat. You have a beautiful garden. I love your roses and ask the lovely plants. I just read your blog about the chandelier; it’s stunning! You did s great job.

Leave a Reply

