Rose Pruning Day

This past week-end I pruned all of my roses which had become leggy and gangly. They’ve been affected by a couple of different funguses caused by the excessive October rains and they’d lost most of their foliage, leaving a garden full of bare stalks. The fungus was relentless and it seemed to be resisting all my efforts to erradicate it so I finally decided that drastic measures were necessary. I went ahead and pruned them down in the hopes that they will leaf out again and resume normal growth. We don’t have marked seasons here so roses can be pruned any time of year. Some of them were blooming and I gathered enough roses for a vase.

xx

I was happy to be able to enjoy these last few blooms as there won’t be anymore for at least a couple of months.

xx

Unfortunately I don’t know the names of all my roses, nurseries here rarely have them labelled by name. Most roses are just sold by color. This velvety rose is such a deep shade of burgundy that it actually looks black from a distance. No idea what it’s called, so I just call it….black rose.

xx

xx

This one has russet colored edges and a yellow center.

xx

ss

xx

I moved the vase over to the coffee table to better enjoy the fragrance as I leafed through a stack of new books. I hit the jackpot at moving sale that same morning and found more than a dozen huge decorating books loaded with mouth watering pictures for about a dollar each. Score! I spent a quiet evening alone, reading in front of a cozy fire with a hot cup of coffee and the heavenly scent of roses as the wind howled outside. Sheer bliss.

ss

ss

xx

 

Joining Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Joining Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

 

Leave a Reply

