Door Decor

 

door full

Our balcony door which is also our front door has always been an eyesore to me  but unfortunately I’m stuck with it for the time being. It’s a very rustic handmade door and I so dislike anything rustic. It was made many years ago by our next door neighbor who is a carpenter but I was never happy with it and I always felt it looked rough and uneven. Over the years the sun had blistered the finish and some of the wood had begun to warp. So I asked him if he could repair the warping, then sand it down and re-varnish it. To my delight he immediately got to work on it, bless his heart. Fortunately it only took him a couple of days to complete the job. But in the end it was still a plain, rustic, boring door. After staring at it for days (and giving it the evil eye) it ocurred to me that it might look somewhat better if I added some inexpensive wood appliques. Surely it couldn’t look any worse. Most of all I wanted to camouflage that unsightly line that ran right down the center panel where two pieces of wood had been glued together.

See the thin line running down the center of the door above the oval glass insert? It continues down below the glass too. It's even more noticeable in person.

See the thin line running down the center of the door above the oval glass insert? It continues down below the glass too. It’s even more noticeable in person.

ss

Before

Before

Before

ss

I bought an assortment of inexpensive oak and birch appliques on Ebay.

I bought an assortment of inexpensive oak and birch appliques on Ebay.

Stained them with a stain that matched the color of the door.

Stained them with a stain that matched the color of the door.

Then I glued them on to the door with carpenter's glue.  They're very lightweight but I also hammered in a couple of finishing nails just in case. Then I varnished them with a clear varnish. Oh, and I also added some faux vinyl stained glass to the inside of the glass panels on either side of the door.

Then I glued them on to the door with carpenter’s glue.  They’re very lightweight but I also hammered in a couple of finishing nails just in case. Then I applied a coat of clear varnish. Oh, and I also added some faux stained glass vinyl clings to the inside of the glass panels on either side of the door.

ss

ss

ss

I will eventually replace the entire door and side panels but for now, this will do nicely I think.

ss

ss

The door redo is just a part of the renovation of my balcony. Hubby had happily used much of the balcony as a storage area for years until I put my foot down and reclaimed it.  I still have a few things to tweak, but now that I’m almost done I can sit down and compare the before and after pictures. I’m apalled and embarassed that I let it go for so long and hubby has been warned that I never want to see another crate or box anywhere near there again. I’m still waiting on an outdoor rug that I ordered and I have to paint those brown plastic flower pots….but that’ll be the subject of a future post.

Joining: Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Joining: Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

2 thoughts on “Door Decor

  1. I love what you have done with the door. The appliques made such a difference. Really dislike my front door too. it is wine colored and so boring and wreaths just don’t show up on it. Too dark.

    • Thanks Ahrisha! Have you ever thought of painting your front door another color? Red front doors look very striking and are a nice backdrop for wreaths and decorations. I so wanted to paint my front door red, but sadly it would have clashed with the mint green exterior of the house.

Leave a Reply

