Miss Amber and friends after the rain

CIMG7990 (1280x960)

This morning I woke up to the sound of howling wind and the pattering of a persistent rain on the zinc roof. We’ve been having some kind of weird weather phenomenon for the past couple of days and it’s been uncharacteristically cold and rainy for this time of year.  It seldom rains in the early mornings even during the rainy season. They call it “canicula” here in Costa Rica. It’s a short period during July when the weather goes crazy and unpredictable, usually warm and dry but sometimes cold and wet.  Known as Dog Days in english, it has something or other to do with Sirius and the Canis Major constellation.  I didn’t want to get out of bed and neither did my two kitties who were snuggled up on top of the covers sleeping through the ruckus but I managed to walk over to the window and open the curtain only to confirm that the weather was indeed miserable.  Mercifully the rain let up at about noon but a chilly wind continued to blow throughout the day.  A couple of my roses had some of their branches broken off  but for the most part they looked all right. Downright happy in fact, with their blooms covered in raindrops. They seem to enjoy nippy weather more than I do.  Miss Amber, a bright coral rose had several open blooms today and climbing Joseph’s Coat was threatening to take over the trellis that it’s supposed to share with Blaze.

This is the view that greeted me as I looked out the window. Wet and foggy.

This is the view that greeted me as I looked out the window. Wet and windy.

Miss Amber is looking fresh and crisp covered in glittering drops of rain. She isn't amber colored at all, she's a bright coral orange.

Miss Amber was the queen of the garden today. She was looking fresh and crisp covered in glittering drops of rain. She isn’t amber colored at all, she’s a bright coral orange.

Tropicana

Tropicana

I don't know the name of this one

I don’t know the name of this one but it sure is a pretty shade of magenta when it opens up completely

Lady Banks. A thornless and vigorous climber. I grew this one from a cutting.

Lady Banks. A thornless and vigorous climber. I grew this one from a cutting. She’s already grown as tall as the house in only three or four years.

Heirloom

Heirloom

The wind and rain blew one of these blooms right off. The garden was full of scattered petals.

The wind and rain blew one of these blooms right off. The garden was littered with  scattered petals from several roses.

CIMG8001 (1280x984)

That's climbing Joseph's Coat on the green trellis.

That’s climbing Joseph’s Coat on the green trellis.

CIMG8043 (960x1280)

CIMG8042 (1280x960)

CIMG7967 (1280x960)

This Heliconia seems to be one of the few plants in my garden that is everything-tolerant. It practically takes care of itself. It's not my favorite plant but it's foolproof. You can't beat that.

This Heliconia seems to be one of the few plants in my garden that is everything-tolerant. It practically takes care of itself. It’s not my favorite plant but it’s foolproof. You can’t beat that.

Another plant that thrives here with little care, purple Salvia or sage, a favorite of hummingbirds.

Another plant that thrives here with little care, purple Salvia or sage, a favorite of hummingbirds.

I'm not sure what this rose is called. It's a very fragrant white climber that blooms profusely in clusters. Each cluster is almost a complete bouquet.

I’m not sure what this rose is called. It’s a very fragrant white climber that blooms profusely in clusters. Each cluster is almost a complete bouquet.

Hydrangeas

Hydrangeas

I always feel a little bit guilty when I cut flowers for bouquets.  They look so pretty on the plants, but today there were so many that I'm sure the plants won't miss them. The pink ones at the far end are hibiscus. They aren't the best cut flowers as their stems are so short but that bubble-gum pink shade  is just so pretty in a bowl.

I always feel a little bit guilty when I cut flowers for bouquets. They look so pretty on the plants, but today there were so many that I’m sure the plants won’t miss them. The pink ones at the far end are hibiscus. They aren’t the best cut flowers as their stems are so short but that bubble-gum pink shade is just so pretty in a bowl.

 

CIMG8031 (1280x960)

CIMG8006 (1280x960)

 

Joining Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Saturday Show Off at The Rose Garden in Malevik

2 thoughts on “Miss Amber and friends after the rain

Leave a Reply

