Rainy Season Is Here Again

Lily orange close up

It’s that time of year again. Rainy  season has officially begun in Costa Rica. Plants have started to perk up as the daily afternoon showers drench and refresh the inhabitants of the garden and quench the thirst of flowers and fruit trees alike. Everything comes alive and I’m reminded of that classic film The Secret Garden, the part when all the beautiful flowers begin to open up and bloom. The soil always has a rich damp smell after the rain and the fragrance of the  different kinds of flowers is almost intoxicating.

I keep seeing dozens of emerald throated hummingbirds hovering and fluttering around the Lantana and Sage shrubs that line the property. Some of them are just newly hatched babies, so tiny that I sometimes confuse them with butterflies! I’ve tried to snap pictures of them but they’re so quick, they never hold still long enough to photograph them.  My roses are better behaved than the hummingbirds though, and they hold perfectly still for me while I snap their pictures, displaying their best colors for the camera and  showing off their shapely forms.

CIMG6344

This is Mr. Lincoln

This is Mr. Lincoln

Not sure what this one is called but it reminds me of strawberries and cream

Not sure what this one is called but it reminds me of strawberries and cream

Julio Iglesias, a red and white speckled rose

Julio Iglesias, a red and white speckled rose

Double Delight. It's both beautiful and intensely fragrant!

Double Delight. It’s both beautiful and intensely fragrant!

Heirloom, a dusky purple rose

Heirloom, a dusky purple rose

ss

This rose is a magnet for little bugs. They love to hide inside the petals.

This rose is a magnet for little bugs. They love to hide inside the petals.

Pink Hibiscus

Pink Hibiscus

I grew this rose from a cutting and I was hoping that it was one of the cuttings that I took from my Diana Princess of Wales rose, especially since I lost the mother plant to Leaf Cutter Ants, a common pest in Costa Rica. They are relentless and can decimate an entire garden in just a day or two.

I grew this rose from a cutting and I was hoping that it was one of the cuttings that I took from my Diana Princess of Wales rose, especially since I lost the mother plant to Leaf Cutter Ants, a common pest in Costa Rica. They are relentless and can decimate an entire garden in just a day or two. This is the first bloom on this cutting but as I recall, Diana Princess of Wales had pinker edges so I can’t positively identify this rose yet.

dd

The deep magenta color of this rose doesn't show up in the picture for some reason

The deep magenta color of this rose doesn’t show up in the picture for some reason.

ss

dd

ss

This rose is so dark it looks black from a distance. It’s actually a maroon/black shade up close. The flowers are a bit smaller than an average sized rose. Unfortunately I don’t know what it’s called.

A little flower bed under the trees

A little flower bed under the trees

ss

Climbing Joseph's Coat. I made a pvc trellis for this rose because wooden or metal trellises wouldn't hold up in the rain.

Climbing Joseph’s Coat. I made a pvc trellis for this rose because wooden or metal trellises wouldn’t hold up in the rain.

This banana tree sprung up in my garden. I didn't plant it, but I welcome it's presence!

This banana tree sprung up in my garden. I didn’t plant it, but I’m happy to see it growing there! I can’t wait til that banana racime is ripe!

This is a little Cedar of Lebanon (Cedrus libani) he's about 3 years old and still pint sized.

This is a little Cedar of Lebanon (Cedrus libani) he’s about 3 years old and still pint sized.

ss

ss

ss

These wildflowers grew from seeds that I sprinkled all over this area of the garden

ss

ss

Orange Lilies

 

Joining: Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Saturday Show off at The Rose Garden in Malevik

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Rainy Season Is Here Again

  1. So nice to know I can grow roses in Costa Rica. They are not doing so well here this Spring. It was such a cold winter that I lost 4 roses this Spring. Do you also grow vegetables?
    ~ ~Ahrisha~ ~

    • Hi Ahrisha! I’ve grown a few vegetables, some have done ok and others haven’t. I think it really depends on the time of year that you plant them. If you plant them so that they’ll go through the ripening process during the dry season, they should be ok. I’ve just planted some mildew resistant pumpkins which should be ready by Halloween. Last year I planted non-resistant pumpkins a bit late and the October rains got most of them….the squirrels got the rest. Roses do well here but they have to be sprayed weekly with a fungicide. Otherwise they won’t make it unless they are resistant varieties which none of the local nurseries carry. I think that the only plants that have done very poorly are my grapevines. After a couple of years of struggling with them, I’m about ready to give up!

  2. Well, roses grow in our Andean part of Ecuador, the best ones in the world! Yours are gorgeous and amazing! You certainly have a Green thumb, my friend!
    Oh wow, when were you in Salinas-Ecuador? Small world, lol! Thanks for your sweet and kind visit. Enjoy your weekend.
    FABBY

    • Hi Fabby! I certainly agree that Ecuador produces the best roses in the world (and the best bananas too!) I was in Salinas many times as we had a beach house near the yacht club and my dad has an apartment in Puerto Lucia. I was born in Guayaquil but raised in Los Angeles since the age of three. Hubby and I lived in Ecuador for a few years during the 80’s. Now we live in Costa Rica where he is from. Saludos!

Leave a Reply

