Memory Quilt/Crazy Quilt

 

ss

After coming to the realization that I have far too many plastic bags full of fabric remnants, I decided that I had better either find a use for them or just throw them out. I guess I must be a hoarder at heart because I couldn’t bear the thought of parting with any of them. I figured a crazy quilt would be a good way to use up even the tiniest of scraps and it would give me a new project to work on and keep my hands occupied.

ss

There were scraps in those bags that dated back to my high school days and believe me, that was many moons ago!  Even though I’ve made quite a few quilts in the past, I had never made a crazy quilt before and I was at a loss as to how to combine the colors. Finally I just decided to piece fabrics together haphazardly and cross my fingers that it would somehow turn out ok. As I sewed them together I realized that many of these remnants held special memories for me and then understood why I was reluctant to throw them away.

ss

The cobalt blue fabric with pink flowers is a scarf from Egypt and the fruit fabric is a scrap of Robert Kaufman fabric left over from some autumn placemats that I made last year.  The green organza butterfly appliqué was an Ebay purchase many years ago. I still had about 100 of those so I placed one on every square and beaded them with beads from my stash.

I cut 15 inch squares of backing fabric and then I sewed the scraps on to the squares, that way it would be easy to just sew them all together in the end.

The scalloped lace belonged to my grandma and it was in a bag of assorted lace that I kept after she died. The green glittery fabric is the edge from an Indian sari.

The scalloped lace belonged to my grandma and it was in a bag of assorted lace that I kept after she died. The green glittery fabric is the edge from an Indian sari.

ss

These little silver coins are from Afghanistan

These little silver coins are from Afghanistan

ss

The white lace on this square is an oval doily made of venise lace that belonged to my grandmother. It had a hole in the middle so I cut it in half and beaded it. The strawberry print muslin fabric is from an Easter dress that I made when I was 17.

The white lace on this square is an oval doily made of venise lace that belonged to my grandmother. It had a hole in the middle so I cut it in half and beaded it. The strawberry print muslin fabric is left over from an Easter dress that I made when I was 17.

CIMG6926

A close up of my grandmother’s lace doily

ss

No idea where that crochet flower came from, it was just lurking in a bag.

The other half of my grandmother's lace doily. The silver studded black mesh fabric is a piece of tulle bi telli hand woven in Egypt.

The other half of my grandmother’s lace doily. The silver studded black mesh fabric is a piece of tulle bi telli hand woven in Egypt. Each one of those stitches is made by hand with genuine silver strips.

ss

ss

A little spider made out of black beads

The red fabric with white hearts is a scrap left over from a dress I made when I was in high school. The polka dot fabric is left over from some pants that my mom made for my daughter when she was a toddler.

The red fabric with white hearts was left over from a summer dress I made when I was in high school. The polka dot fabric is a remnant from some pants that my mom made for my daughter when she was a toddler.

My dear friend Katiana gave me this delicate white lace that reminds me of bridal lace. The red flowers on top of it are made out of left over Christmas fabric.

My dear friend Katiana gave me this delicate white lace that reminds me of bridal lace. The red flowers on top of it are made out of left over Christmas fabric.

ss

Another piece of lace from my friend Katiana.

Another piece of lace from my friend Katiana.

ss

Various ribbon flowers

ss

Another little spider

Another little spider

I bought this yellow embroidered fabric in Ecuador years ago.

I bought this yellow embroidered fabric in Ecuador years ago. The black material with gold sequins is from an evening dress circa 1985

This blue embroidered scallop edged fabric was also purchased in Ecuador in the 80's. The coins are Kuchi from Afghanistan.

This blue embroidered scallop edged fabric was also purchased in Ecuador in the 80’s. The silver coins are Kuchi from Afghanistan.

One segment of a crochet doily that my mother in law made for me years ago. She does breathtaking crochet work. I made the mistake of washing the doily in bleach which ate a hole in it , so I cut it into several pieces.

One segment of a crochet doily that my mother in law made for me a long time ago. She does breathtaking crochet work. I made the mistake of washing the doily in bleach which ate a hole in it , so I cut it into several pieces.

This kitty was a free gift from an Ebay seller that I bought some beads from and it reminds me of my darling Himalayan cat, Semsema.

This kitty was a free gift from an Ebay seller that I bought some beads from and it reminds me of my darling Himalayan cat, Semsema.

CIMG7043

The dark blue and dark green flowered fabrics are from two soft Egyptian cotton scarves...a treasured gift from a dear friend who is now deceased.

The dark blue and dark green flowered fabrics are from two soft Egyptian cotton scarves…a treasured gift from a dear Egyptian friend who is now deceased.

I added a burgundy velvet border edged in black lace and gold chainette fringe. I guess I was going for a sort of gothic look.

I added a burgundy velvet border edged in black lace and gold chainette fringe. I guess I was going for a sort of Victorian/gothic look.

CIMG7064

I sewed gold tassels on the corners

dd

ss

CIMG7031

I discovered that it doesn’t really take too many scraps of fabric to make a crazy quilt, at least not as many as I thought it would. I still have enough remnants left in those bags to make about 30 more of these.

Joining: Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

 

3 thoughts on “Memory Quilt/Crazy Quilt

Leave a Reply

