No-wheat Strawberry Roll

BeFunky_CIMG6089 (1024x768).jpg

My daughter is allergic to wheat. Not to gluten but to the wheat itself.  This has made her life miserable since she was in grade school because whenever she eats anything with wheat in it, her nose gets stuffy and runny at the same time. Not to mention the bouts of itchy eyes and scratchy throat.  Lately I have also discovered that my perpetual nausea is caused by an apparent wheat intolerance as well. If I eliminate wheat from my diet, my nausea dissapears like magic.  So naturally I am always on the look out for anything wheatless particularly if its sweet.  Not too long ago,  my daughter decided to complain loudly about the unfairness of it all.  It was not fair that  everything that tasted good was  made with flour bla bla bla . Something about her whining stirred my memory and I remembered that my ex- sister in law used to make the most delicious fruit filled cream rolls without any wheat flour in them. She used corn starch instead. I had been curious at the time about such an odd recipe and had asked her about it. She told me that she used corn starch instead of wheat flour because it yielded a ligher and fluffier cake. I recalled that  it was indeed light and fluffy and without even  a hint of a corn taste. It was practically impossible to tell the difference.  I’m glad I asked her because all these years later  I managed to remember the recipe and I was able to make the strawberry cream roll myself.  It turned out every bit as yummy as my sister in law’s, modesty aside.  Heres the recipe:

6 egg whites

6 egg yolks

1/2 cup of sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. vanilla

3/4 cup of corn starch

2 cups fresh strawberries sliced and sweetened with 2 tablespoons of sugar

2 and a half cups of sweetened whipped cream (increase to 3 cups if you like alot of cream )

Almond slices for sprinkling on top as garnish (*optional…you can also add shredded coconut if you like*)

Pre-heat oven to 350. Spray a 12 X 16  inch baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray and dust well with corn starch. In a large mixing  bowl beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. Add the sugar and continue beating on low. Add the baking powder and the vanilla. Then add the yolks and  the corn starch.

2BeFunky_CIMG5934 (1024x768).jpg

Mix all the ingredients until the batter is smooth and no streaks show. Pour it into the baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes. It’s a very thin cake so it doesn’t take long.

BeFunky_CIMG5937 (1024x768).jpg

Remove from the oven when the top is golden. Carefully loosen the cake from the baking sheet and immediately place it on a clean kitchen towel and roll it up from the narrow end while its still hot.

BeFunky_CIMG5940 (1024x768).jpg Allow it to cool in the towel.

BeFunky_CIMG5942 (768x1024).jpg

Carefully unroll the cake and spread half of the whipped cream all over the surface of the unrolled cake. Arrange the strawberry slices over the cream. (Reserve a few strawberries for garnish)

You can also add a bit of shredded coconut if you like

You can also add a bit of shredded coconut if you like

Slowly and carefully roll the cake up again, tucking the strawberries in with your fingers as you roll. Place seam side down on a tray and cover with the remaining whipped cream. Garnish with strawberry slices and slivered almonds.  Slice to serve.

BeFunky_CIMG6094 (1024x768).jpg

cc

xx

BeFunky_CIMG6091 (768x1024).jpg

Note* Corn starch in the U.S. is not the same as corn flour. This recipe calls for corn STARCH. It’s called maicena in spanish.

Joining: Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Joining: Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

2 thoughts on “No-wheat Strawberry Roll

  1. Tesalm edeke el gamela , and salamat for your daughter , thank you so much for post the explanation and description of alll steps in easy simple way , but still i feel afraid from the steps of roll then unroll then roll again , sure i will need help , thanks sooo much for posting this beautiful post and happy christmass and happy new year for alll

    • Thank you so much King Farouk for all the beautiful and encouraging comments you have left on my blog over the years. It saddens me greatly to know that this will be the last comment you will ever leave here. Rest in peace my dear, dear friend. I will miss you.

Leave a Reply

