Tree Dahlias are blooming again

Dahlia 4

One of the things I like best about living in Costa Rica is the lush greenness and the abundance of tropical flowers growing wild just about everywhere.  The color contrasts are amazing and hues range  from one end of the color spectrum to the other. Last year I was very surprised to see tree Dahlias growing wild in the empty lot next door to our mountain house but this year I was even more suprised to find that a wild Dahlia tree had spouted up in MY garden too!  As soon as I spied the delicate lavender petaled flowers beggining to bloom on the tree I enlisted the help of  Otto,  our handyman  and we cut enough for a bouquet.

There were also a number of  red ginger bushes (Alpinia purpurata) in full bloom all along our fence so I cut a handful of those as well. Actually Alpinias bloom year round here in this mild climate, contrary to their chilly sounding name and they make lovely cut flowers.

ss

Otto cut two handfuls of Dahlias and Alpinias

Wild Dahlia Trees

Wild Dahlia Trees

Red ginger (Alpinia Purpurata)

Red ginger (Alpinia Purpurata)

ss

dd

ss

I also added some blanketflowers from my garden

I also added some blanketflowers from my garden. Blanket flowers are drought resistant plants, but they hold up valiantly under excessive rain too. Bless their little red hearts.

sss

ss

Semsema loves flowers.  Whenever I cut a fresh bouquet she always jumps up on the countertop and smells every single one. Then she sits next to the vase keeping guard to make sure that nothing happens to them.  She’ll often curl up next to the vase and go to sleep.

This was a different bouquet that I cut a few weeks ago. I think she enjoys them as much as I do!

This one is a different bouquet that I cut a few weeks ago. I am convinced that Semsema enjoys flowers as much as I do!

ss

Joining:

Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage    

Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

Saturday Show Off at The Rose Garden In Malevik

4 thoughts on “Tree Dahlias are blooming again

  1. How gorgeous your dahlias are and the furry Little guy is adorable! Thanks for your sweet visit, you made my day! Have a lovely December!
    FABBY

Leave a Reply

