Garden Planting Time

Foto1684 (768x1024)

The beggining of rainy season here in Costa Rica is the perfect time for planting  things and for starting a vegetable garden. This year I decided to start a little vegetable garden in a small area next to the house which gets alot of morning sun.  I’ve been hearing quite a bit about moon planting lately and my grandfather used to swear by it, so I figured I was just in time to give moon planting a try because we won’t have a full moon until the 22nd of this month.  I have all that time to plant stuff.  I must admit, I’ve always been more than a little skeptical about these things but so far it seems to be working out well and the pumpkin seeds I planted a about a week ago sprouted almost immediately, much to my surprise. I wasn’t expecting any of them to germinate because last month I planted an entire packet of  Baby Pam pumpkin seeds and not a single one of them sprouted. Perhaps I planted them during the wrong moon phase. Hmm. This time I went with a packet of  Jack-O-Lantern pumpkins that I ordered from Amazon.

Jack-o-Lantern Seed packet

Jack-o-Lantern Seed packet

A little over a week later, I had all these sprouts!

Foto1710 (1280x1127)

They are just about ready for transplanting into the ground and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that by the time Halloween comes around in October, I will have huge beautiful pumpkins, ready to carve or turn into pies.

This is Amazon's picture on the Jack-o-Lantern seed page. I'm really hoping that I'll have pumpkins like these soon.

This is Amazon’s picture on the Jack-o-Lantern seed page. I’m really hoping that I’ll have pumpkins like these soon.

Yesterday I planted several vegetables seeds. I had bought some seeds packets  for my daughter last year after she expressed her desire to plant vegetables upon her return from Italy where she’d helped a neighbor out with his vegetable garden. Of course she promptly forgot all about the seed packets and I found them in her room the other day as I was dusting. I’m not sure if they’re still viable or not after a year, but it’s worth a try.  And you know the moon is in my favor right now….wink.

I planted carrots, cherry tomatos, bell peppers, radishes, lettuce, rosemary and cilantro

I planted carrots, cherry tomatos, bell peppers, radishes, lettuce, rosemary and cilantro

I’ll post updates as things begin to grow.

Here’s something that is doing quite well. I think these are Lobelia. I planted some seeds a few months ago and they’re beggining to flower all over my garden.

Foto1722 (768x1024)

Yeah, it must be the moon.

Leave a Reply

