My M’rockin’ Wall

Foto1641 copy

Our week-end mountain house has really high ceilings. They’re so high that I’m not able to have any ceiling  fixtures in some parts of the house otherwise I’d have to call the fire department whenever I needed to change a lightbulb. I’d have to ask them to let me borrow those really long expanding ladders they have on their trucks. This makes decorating the high walls particularly difficult because not only can I not reach up there to hang anything but it’s a pain in the neck when it comes to dusting and cleaning too. There was one particularly bare and bleak looking wall that I knew I’d have to find a solution for because it was just beyond boring. I was willing to do a little ladder climbing and arm stretching to get the job done.  I love Bohemian/Moroccan/Middle Eastern style decor and when I came across two little Moroccan wall lanterns on Ebay for just a few dollars, I knew I had to have them. And then it took off from there.

This is what the wall looked like before. There was a depressing lack of color. The futon cover didn't fit right and the globe sconces looked out of place.

This is what the wall looked like before. So dreary. There was a depressing lack of color. The futon cover didn’t fit right and the globe sconces looked out of place. That little round black table looked so 80s.

The two Moroccan wall sconces that I bought on Ebay were quite grimy and tarnished. I scrubbed them with brass polish and underneath all that tarnish I began to see the gleam of golden brass. Then I glued on some red jewels to give them added sparkle.

BEFORE

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

I had a couple of left over tassels that I’d made some time ago and I added them to the bottom of each wall sconce.  I decided that the ill fitting and drab futon cover had to go. It was really hideous. I bought a bright red stretch cover for it and was happy to find that it was a perfect fit! The stretch factor really made a difference. Some colorful Moroccan cushions that I’d made last year really helped jazz things up. Then I remembered that I had bought an oil painting many years ago on Ebay which I’d never hung and it was still packed in it’s original shipping tube. The Ebay seller told me at the time that her husband had been stationed in Iraq and had bought the oil painting while he was there, but she didn’t like it. So she put it up on Ebay for 10 dollars. Now I finally took it out of the plastic tube and sent it off to be framed.  The painting of  an unknown arab woman’s eyes and the faint silhouette of a camel caravan below her made me remember that I had an old arabian dancing sword lurking about somewhere. I managed to find it and I hung it above the painting on a pair of sword display hangers.

I added a natural palm and a little wooden octagonal table. Its actually from India, but it went well with the middle eastern accessories.

I added a natural palm and a little wooden octagonal table. Its actually from India, but it went well with the middle eastern accessories.

But the wall still looked kind of bare and it desperately needed additional color. I thought that some pretty watercolor paintings might look nice so I began to search for something interesting online. I was quite dismayed however to find that people wanted hundreds of dollars for water color paintings that were nothing more than a bunch of  streaky brushstrokes on a piece of paper. Most weren’t even painted by known artists. So I figured I could make my own streaky looking watercolor paintings just as badly as the next guy. I had a sketch pad with some blank pages left in it so I drew some fantasy mosques in pencil and then painted them over with water colors. I added a bit of stardust glitter on them to give them extra sparkle.

ss

ss

ss

Then I had them framed

ss

And I hung them on the wall

ss

ss

Then I added a Shisha pipe on the little table next to the sofa and voila. I was done. Well, let’s just say that I’m done for the time being, until I see anything else I can  add to it or until I decide I like something else better.

ss

ss

Foto1629 copy

ss

Joining Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Joining Show And Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

One thought on “My M’rockin’ Wall

Leave a Reply

