Crystal Blue Persuasion

CIMG5604

This little blue chandelier started life out as a very tacky wrought iron lamp with an equally tacky green and black verdigris finish that was quite dreadful. It was one of  two identical hanging lamps that I bought at the Chinese store last year. I bought them both only because they were on sale and seemed to be screaming out for a makeover. And everyone knows that you should never separate twins. Neither of the lamps had any crystals on them and they were missing all the lightbulbs as well, but they had potential. And I had a box of  lamp crystals lurking in a drawer.  And have I ever mentioned how obsessed I am with chandeliers? I am always on the lookout for old naked chandeliers, even if I have nowhere to hang them anymore.  So, here is what I started out with:

Original Color of The Lamp

Original Color of The Lamp

I spray painted this chandy a nice bright sky blue making sure that every inch of that ugly green/black finish was covered. Then I  began to add the sparkly stuff. I had some acrylic flatback rhinestones in a baggie. Even though they were acrylic, they were very sparkly.

ss

So I hot-glued them on to every lightbulb socket cup on the lamp as well as on the upper rim of the center piece.

ss

Then I added some crystal chain

ss

And some crystal teardrops:

ss

I bought some little flame shaped lightbulbs, screwed them in and it was set to go. I  hung the chandy in my daughter’s bedroom. She wasn’t too keen on the color blue at first and it took some persuading to get her to go along with the idea. But after she saw it she looked pleased as punch and I could tell she liked it.

ss

ss

ss

ss

ss

ss

ss

ss

ss

If you would like to see this lamp’s yellow twin, you can read about that makeover here: Pearl Chandy

And if you’d like to read more about the different types and qualities of chandelier cristals you can see that here:  Bathroom Chandelier

Joining:

Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Show And Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

Seasonal Sunday at The Tablescaper

8 thoughts on “Crystal Blue Persuasion

  1. That’s a great make over! The blue color is really pretty and the crystals just make it. I commend you for standing on whatever that was to get the great pictures.

  2. I host a weekly link party called “Seasonal Sundays”. This week, in honor of my fourth blog-a-versary, I’m having a giveaway of a $100.00 gift certificate to HomeGoods/TJ Maxx. I’d love to have you join the fun!

    – The Tablescaper

Leave a Reply

