Another Piano Stool Makeover

Foto0083

Not long ago I bought two little antique piano stools from an Armenian diplomat who had listed them on Craigslist. He was leaving the country and was selling practically everything in his apartment. I didn’t really care for the antique velvet upholstery they came with….one was green and the other was red. But the fabric was in very good condition on both of the stools considering their age and I didn’t have the heart to remove it, so I decided to just go ahead and place the new fabric on top of the old ones. I painted one of the stools white because I didn’t really like black-ish wood and iron base it had. You can see pictures of that project here. However, the green velvet stool had a carved wood base that was very pretty and I didn’t want to alter it in any way. Here’s what it looked like when I bought it:

Foto0076

This stool, like the other one, has a swivel mechanism that allows it to turn completely in any direction. The green velvet was pretty enough but it didn’t go with anything in my house and it just looked too antique-ey for my taste. I briefly thought of painting the wood white. Or yellow. But I decided not to because it would have really been a shame to hide such beautiful wood. I just gave it a good buffing with Old English furniture oil (I’m a die-hard fan of that stuff!) and it gleamed like new.

ss

I dug into my upholstery fabrics stash and after much debating, I settled on a floral chintz that had pink chrysanthemum-like flowers and yellow pears. It has a sort of Asian look to it. The background was beige, not my favorite, but I figured I could brighten it up a bit with some popping hot pink fringe.

ss

I just stapled the new fabric underneath the stool, pulling taut to avoid any wrinkles or sagging and then I hot glued the fuchsia beaded fringe all around the bottom edge. On top of the fringe I hot glued a braided trim to hide the raw edge.

ss

ss

This was an easy project which took me probably less than two hours to complete. The only difficult part was trying to decide where to put it. I took it up to the mountain house and tried it in different spots. I placed it in front of the bay window in my bedroom for a few weeks.

ss

ss

But then I decided that it would be alot more useful next to my little writing desk on the other side of the room.

ss

And that’s where it stayed. I like the look of the pink and yellow together. They don’t exactly match, but they do compliment each other in an interesting way.

Joining Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

and

Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Another Piano Stool Makeover

Leave a Reply

