Baubles and Glitz

Foto1325

I must have been a magpie in a past life.  I know I’ve said that before, but it’s the truth. Anything that glitters and shines makes me stop and do a double-take. This is exactly what happened when I came across a breathtaking collection of vanity items beautifully adorned with jewels and rhinestones. I spent hours looking at all the pictures until my eyes watered and I was wiping drool off my keyboard. There were jeweled mirrors, jeweled trinket boxes, jeweled perfume bottles and even jeweled seashells. I knew hubby would have gone into cardiac arrest if I had ordered any of the items I wanted from that website (and I wanted them ALL!) because most of them were priced in the hundreds of dollars range. And justifiably so, because the artist had used very expensive vintage crystal jewelry  and high quality materials to create each piece. But the more I looked at them the more I figured I could probably make much less expensive knock-offs that would look very similar. Here are the original inspiration pieces:

http://www.victoriarosecottage.com/category_85/6/Puttin-On-The-Glitz-Jeweled-Treasures-.htm

And here is how I replicated them with much less expensive decorations. My first stop was at the five and dime jewelry store where i was able to purchase dozens of inexepensive glass rhinestone rings, earrings and brooches. I paid about 70 cents for each. The color variety was mind boggling but for the most part I tried to stick with pink, fuchsia, lavender and clear tones. It was easy to just snap off the back part of the rings and brooches so that they’d lay flat.

ss

Then I had to find the items that I wanted to decorate. The first thing that had caught my eye on that website was a gorgeous cast bronze vanity mirror shaped like a fan. What were the odds of finding one of those anywhere? I was surprised to find a couple of them on listed on Ebay when I typed the words “fan mirror” in the search. Score! I purchased one for around $30 dollars including shipping. I also purchased a mirrored perfume tray, assorted glass perfume bottles, a trinket box and a lady head vase (how weird are those head vases??)  For around $10 dollars each.

Heavy Bronze Fan Mirror

Heavy Bronze Fan Mirror

A Filigree trinket box

A Filigree trinket box

vanity tray

Vanity Mirror Tray

Lady Head Vase

Lady Head Vase

I always keep cristal rhinestone chain in different sizes on hand because I love to add them to alot of my projects. I order the 10 yard rolls from China because they’re such a bargain so I didn’t have to buy any for these projects. After plugging in the hot glue gun I began to glue on the cristal jewelry and the rhinestone chain. It was kind of like putting together a jigsaw puzzle because I didn’t want to leave any empty spaces between the jewelry pieces. (Clicking on the pictures makes them alot bigger BTW)

ss

Then I glued the rhinestone chain to the bottom part of the fan, following the design of the fan staves.

ss

And here is the finished mirror fan

ss

Next I continued with the the mirrored vanity tray and perfume bottles. I didn’t have to do much to the tray. I just added a row of Aurora Borealis Rhinestone chain to the bottom edge. The perfume bottles got the full glitter treatment though, and I applied rhinestones, pearls and rhinestone chain in different colors. I also added some fringy tassels to the bottle tops.  My daughter had an empty Nina Ricci apple shaped perfume bottle that I really liked so I decorated it  as well. And a Liz Claiborne perfume bottle with a cobalt blue top too.

ss

ss

ss

Then the trinket box followed

Don't mind those potato chips in the background. One has to eat when one is being creative.

Don’t mind those potato chips in the background. One has to eat when one is being creative.

ss

Last but not least, Miss Hat Lady got a beauty treatment

ss

ss

ss

I added some feathers, because after all….what’s a hat without feathers?

ss

And then I arranged everything on my dresser.

ss

I had some shells stored in a baggie among my craft supplies so I hot glued rhinestones on them too.

ss

ss

My inner magpie is appeased for now.

Joining Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

and

Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

2 thoughts on “Baubles and Glitz

Leave a Reply

