Loving Louis Style

Foto0896

Not long ago I wrote about a garage sale that our good friend Richie had. Among the things I bought was a cute little Louis XV night table that I have absolutely no space for in any of the bedrooms. I knew that when I set eyes on it. But it was just too cute not to bring home with me. I don’t know what it is about tables that makes me go weak in the knees.  Night tables, coffee tables, piecrust tables, occasional tables….one can never have too many of them.

It was the first thing I zeroed in on as I walked into the garage sale. After haggling a bit and convincing Richie to lower the price some, I loaded it into the car and brought it home. The little night table had been painted a creamy yellow with gold accents and it reminded me of my aunt’s 1960’s french provincial bedroom set.

richies-garage-sale

There’s the night table, next to the cream colored chest of drawers

It also had alot of scratch marks and gouges and it looked pretty beat up. I decided to paint it white, even though I still had no idea where I would put it. I gave it a light sanding and made sure there was no flaking paint left on it. Then I filled in the gouges with putty.

ss

After the putty dried, I sanded it down yet again until it was smooth to the touch.

ss

Foto0700

Next it was time to apply the paint. I didn’t want to use a stark white because I didn’t want anyone to be blinded when they looked at it, so I chose a soft antique-ish white and applied three coats. Thankfully this was one of the easiest projects I’ve ever worked on. The paint went on smoothly and the coverage was surprisingly good.

Foto0709

ss

I replaced the dated metal knob on the front of the drawer with a white porcelain knob. Now the little night table looked fresh and new. The only thing left to do was figure out where I’d put it. There was absolutely no room in the bedrooms either in our city house nor up at the mountain house so that was out of the question. I did however, have an empty spot in the master bath where it might work and the storage space that the drawer provided would certainly come in handy. I crossed my fingers and hoped that it would fit. It did!

I haven’t decided yet what to set on top of it. I tried this plate of shells first.

ss

But I didn’t like how they looked. So I tried one of my candelabras instead.

ss

It’s not exactly the look I had in mind….but it’ll do until I can come up with something else. I must say I am very pleased with my little Louis XV style night table.

Joining:

Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage

Show And Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

3 thoughts on “Loving Louis Style

  1. It’s adorable. Why not top it with bath accessories, extra hand towels, a dish or jar with decorative soaps or bath salts, etc.

Leave a Reply

