Little Antique Piano Stool

Antique Stool

Not long ago I bought two little antique piano stools at a moving sale organized by an Armenian diplomat who was returning to his country. Most of the stuff he was selling was too expensive to even consider, but he had advertised some kilims on Craigslist and the price sounded reasonable so I decided I’d go take a look.  The kilims were breathtaking and there were many. I bought a very pretty wool kilim from Azerbaijan and as I was about to leave with my purchase rolled up and tucked safely under my arm, I asked about the two little piano stools that I had seen pictured  in his Craigslist ad. He led me to a back room full of antiques and I spied the two stools in a corner. Taking a deep breath I made him an offer for both stools and much to my surprise he accepted!  I loaded everthing into the car and took off with my treaures. The stools were in very good shape considering they were made in the late 1800’s, they both even had swivel mechanisms underneath so they could be made higher or lower. The only thing I didn’t like about them were the colors but I was hesitant to alter them in any way because they were after all, antiques. The last thing I wanted to do was to ruin them. But then I figured, what the heck. They were mine now and I could do anything I wanted with them. So there. The Armenian diplomat would never even know it, ha! (Unless of course he ever finds this blog)

This is the original piano stool with it's red velvet upholstery and the blackish cast iron base.

This is the original piano stool with it’s red velvet upholstery and the blackish cast iron base.

Here's a close up of the pedestal. The dark color was quite dreary.

Here’s a close up of the pedestal base. The dark color was quite dreary.

I decided to paint  one of the piano stools white. I covered the original red velvet upholstery carefully with newspaper and masking tape to protect it. Even though I planned to re-upholster the stool, I didn’t want to damage the original fabric just in case. Next I sprayed the cast iron base with a crisp white matte spray paint, applying several coats to get full even coverage. Meantime I dug into my box of upholstery fabric scraps to see what I could come up with. I settled on a soft pastel striped fabric that wouldn’t overpower the new white color of the pedestal base. Once the cast iron base was dry, I placed the new fabric right on top of the old one and stapled it into place underneath pulling it tautly at each corner to eliminate any possibility of wrinkles or loose fabric.

Antique Stool #5

pastel fabric

I had some beaded fringe laying around left over from a costume project and the colors matched, so I hot glued the fringe all around the bottom edge of the upholstery. It looked sort of Victorian-ish.

Piano Stool fringe

Beaded fringe close-up

Beaded fringe close-up

It still wasn’t quite right though. I thought it looked too pale and boring. I went back to my trim stash and I  found yards upon endless yards of wine colored braided trim, also left over from a previous project. (what was I thinking when I bought so much?) I hot glued the trim all around the edge right over the top edge of the beaded fringe. At this point I didn’t care if it matched the other colors or not…I just desperately needed more color to liven up all this paleness.

Braided Trim close up

I took the little stool up to the mountain house and set it on the stair landing where it was a perfect fit and it matched the wall mirrors too.

CIMG5470 mirrors

Night time lanterns

Night time

Antique Stool #2

The other little stool got a make-over as well and ended up looking completely different than this one. But that’s a whole other story.

Linking with My Romantic Home for Show and Tell Friday

And

French Country Cottage for Feathered Nest Friday

One thought on “Little Antique Piano Stool

  1. U turned it to be sooo pretty and gave them new beautfil life . teslam edeke el helween , by the way i like the decoration style of the hanged mirrors on the wall , they looks so pretty , thx for posting

Leave a Reply

